Books I’ve Bought But Have Yet To Read #1

Welcome back to my blogsite! Today I’m bringing you yet the start of another series.

Via Giphy.com

This one focuses on the books that I’ve bought that I have yet to read. As I’ve mentioned in my previous post, this current version of me enjoys books and has always loved to read since I was a tiny, but recently due to the stresses that life has given me, I’m not so much in the reading mood.

Via Giphy.com

I’m still not used to this and would like to return to my eager and excited can’t wait to read this book life that I had before… soon very soon I’ll make my return. Anyway though reading and I are far apart, my love books remains and so when I’m able to purchase a book due to me wanting to read it and also because the price is right, what follows is the end result.

  1. Godzilla and Godzilla Raids Again

I purchased this last year, I believe it was a pre-order? That must explain the $17.96 price cause I normally don’t purchase books that high! It also could be that it’s two books in one volume. I did start to read it but I have yet to finish, not because it’s boring, oh no! The urge to read at all is extremely low. So what’s this book about? Glad you asked, if you hadn’t figured out it’s about this nuclear bomb powered lizard (would that be correct?) kaiju who’s wrecking havoc on Japan. More akin to the Godzilla Minus One and definitely not Godzilla x Kong The New Empire.

Here’s the synopsis via Amazon:

The first English translations of the original novellas about the iconic kaijū Godzilla

Godzilla emerged from the sea to devastate Tokyo in the now-classic 1954 film, produced by Tōhō Studios and directed by Ishirō Honda, creating a global sensation and launching one of the world’s most successful movie and media franchises. Awakened and transformed by nuclear weapons testing, Godzilla serves as a terrifying metaphor for humanity’s shortsighted destructiveness: this was the intent of Shigeru Kayama, the science fiction writer who drafted the 1954 original film and its first sequel and, in 1955, published these novellas.

Although the Godzilla films have been analyzed in detail by cultural historians, film scholars, and generations of fans, Kayama’s two Godzilla novellas—both classics of Japanese young-adult science fiction—have never been available in English. This book finally provides English-speaking fans and critics the original texts with these first-ever English-language translations of Godzilla and Godzilla Raids Again. The novellas reveal valuable insights into Kayama’s vision for the Godzilla story, feature plots that differ from the films, and clearly display the author’s strong antinuclear, proenvironmental convictions.

Kayama’s fiction depicts Godzilla as engaging in guerrilla-style warfare against humanity, which has allowed the destruction of the natural world through its irresponsible, immoral perversion of science. As human activity continues to cause mass extinctions and rapid climatic change, Godzilla provides a fable for the Anthropocene, powerfully reminding us that nature will fight back against humanity’s onslaught in unpredictable and devastating ways.

2. Wonder Woman Warbringer

Now I got this at this store called Ollies and it was only $3.99! Also it’s graphic novel and those don’t take me long to read, but alas, I have yet to do so. Out of the DC trinity, Wonder Woman’s my favorite and so if I see something that’s related to her and it’s cheap, sometimes I get it. So what’s this book about? Here’s the synopsis via Goodreads:

She will become one of the world’s greatest heroes: WONDER WOMAN. But first she is Diana, Princess of the Amazons. And her fight is just beginning. Based on the New York Times bestselling novel by Leigh Bardugo, this graphic novel adaptation brings to life Diana’s first adventure beyond the hidden shores of Themyscira.

Diana longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. But when the opportunity finally comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law–risking exile–to save a mere mortal. Even worse, Alia Keralis is no ordinary girl and with this single brave act, Diana may have doomed the world.

Alia just wanted to escape her overprotective brother with a semester at sea. She doesn’t know she is being hunted. When a bomb detonates aboard her ship, Alia is rescued by a mysterious girl of extraordinary strength and forced to confront a horrible truth: Alia is a Warbringer–a direct descendant of the infamous Helen of Troy, fated to bring about an age of bloodshed and misery.

Together, Diana and Alia will face an army of enemies–mortal and divine–determined to either destroy or possess the Warbringer. If they have any hope of saving both their worlds, they will have to stand side by side against the tide of war.

3. Black Panther: Prelude

I also got this at Ollie’s-which is a great place to buy comic book trades and other types of books for low prices. It was 20% of the price so I believe I only paid $4.99 or less for it. Have I read it?

Whenever I get to it I think I’ll enjoy it. Since it’s a tie-in to the fantastic Marvel film. Here’s the synopsis via Goodreads:

Wakanda. The most technologically advanced nation in the world — and protected by the mighty Black Panther! Now, learn how T’Challa became the legendary hero of his homeland in an all-new tale set in the Marvel Cinematic Universe! See how the mantle was passed to the future king at a time when super heroes were just emerging in the larger world. But can the new monarch defeat the merciless mercenary Zanda? Plus: Classic Panther tales by all-time great creators! Ferocious villain Erik Killmonger fuels the Panther’s rage! Familiar friends and foes play their part including Everett K. Ross, the deadly Dora Milaje and T’Challa’s archfoe, Klaw! And the future of Wakanda is here as a revolution begins!

Collects Marvel’s Black Panther Prelude #1-2, Black Panther (2005) #2, Black Panther (2016) #1 and material from Jungle Action #6-7 & Black Panther (1998) #19.

4. Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451: The Authorized Adaptation

This I bought from Amazon last year, I also bought the novel (and haven’t read that either, leave me alone!). I paid $11.19 and now the book’s $7.49… does this also happened to anyone, where you buy something and the next time you see that if you had waited a bit-especially since you’re not going to even read the darn book anyway-that you could have saved some money?

Okay here’s the synopsis:

Now an HBO Original Movie starring Michael B. Jordan (Black Panther), Sofia Boutella (Star Trek: Beyond), and Michael Shannon (The Shape of Water). *Psst…How was this film? (-The Blerdy Librarian)*

An Eisner Award Nominee

“Monday burn Millay, Wednesday Whitman, Friday Faulkner, burn ’em to ashes, then burn the ashes.”

For Guy Montag, a career fireman for whom kerosene is perfume, this is not just an official slogan. It is a mantra, a duty, a way of life in a tightly monitored world where thinking is dangerous and books are forbidden.

In 1953, Ray Bradbury envisioned one of the world’s most unforgettable dystopian futures, and in Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451, the artist Tim Hamilton translates this frightening modern masterpiece into a gorgeously imagined graphic novel. As could only occur with Bradbury’s full cooperation in this authorized adaptation, Hamilton has created a striking work of art that uniquely captures Montag’s awakening to the evil of government-controlled thought and the inestimable value of philosophy, theology, and literature.

Including an original foreword by Ray Bradbury and fully depicting the brilliance and force of his canonic and beloved masterwork, Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 is an exceptional, haunting work of graphic literature.

5. Spare

So this I got as pre-order audiobook cause it was cheaper than getting a physical copy at the time. I’m not a royal enthusiasts by any means, but since these folks are around my age and since I respected their mother, I decided to see what all the hullabaloo was about. I mean we already know what this book is about due to the author/main figure of the book is on the cover, but for consistency’s sake (and also it wouldn’t be proper), here’s the synopsis via Amazon.com:

1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Discover the global phenomenon that tells an unforgettable story of love, loss, and healing.

“Compellingly artful . . . [a] blockbuster memoir.”—The New Yorker (Best Books of the Year)

It was one of the most searing images of the twentieth century: two young boys, two princes, walking behind their mother’s coffin as the world watched in sorrow—and horror. As Princess Diana was laid to rest, billions wondered what Prince William and Prince Harry must be thinking and feeling—and how their lives would play out from that point on.

For Harry, this is that story at last.

Before losing his mother, twelve-year-old Prince Harry was known as the carefree one, the happy-go-lucky Spare to the more serious Heir. Grief changed everything. He struggled at school, struggled with anger, with loneliness—and, because he blamed the press for his mother’s death, he struggled to accept life in the spotlight.

At twenty-one, he joined the British Army. The discipline gave him structure, and two combat tours made him a hero at home. But he soon felt more lost than ever, suffering from post-traumatic stress and prone to crippling panic attacks. Above all, he couldn’t find true love.

Then he met Meghan. The world was swept away by the couple’s cinematic romance and rejoiced in their fairy-tale wedding. But from the beginning, Harry and Meghan were preyed upon by the press, subjected to waves of abuse, racism, and lies. Watching his wife suffer, their safety and mental health at risk, Harry saw no other way to prevent the tragedy of history repeating itself but to flee his mother country. Over the centuries, leaving the Royal Family was an act few had dared. The last to try, in fact, had been his mother. . . .

For the first time, Prince Harry tells his own story, chronicling his journey with raw, unflinching honesty. A landmark publication, Spare is full of insight, revelation, self-examination, and hard-won wisdom about the eternal power of love over grief.

Now don’t get me wrong, I like audiobooks, but I noticed that reading it this way (and yes audiobooks count as reading, debate your uncle!) slowed me down versus if I had the physical copy I most likely would had finished it by now.

Me with the audiobook version of Spare. Via Giphy.com.

In fact, I’m very close to finishing it, but you know life got in the way. I do believe that out of all the books that I’ve bought and yet to finish, this may be one of the first that I’ll complete. Fingers crossed!

And we’ll end part one here.

Until the next post,

-The Blerdy Librarian


Leave a comment